AutosTalk Forums  

Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay?

Miscellaneous UK car topics Other UK car topics (uk.rec.cars.misc)


Discuss Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? in the Miscellaneous UK car topics forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
AstraVanMan
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 02:04 PM






Quote:
Yet that advertisement looks like its been written by somebody
very experienced in using ebay, from both the layout and the wording.

You are kidding right? The layout is appalling! Even the main photo,
while OK technically, should have been from the front-side and lower.

Surely nobody would buy a car without seeing it? Go and look!

PS I like the "Non paying bidders will be pursued", I get a kind of
Keystone Cops, or Benny Hill image in my mind ;-)
Talking of pursuing non-paying bidders, it's always made me chuckle when
I've seen "pursued" spelt "perused".

--
Peter

"Live your life so that one day, someone aspires to be the next you."
Get Circumcised to e-mail me




Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Lorfarius
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 05:17 PM






Quote:
But why would somebody capable of making a pretty ebay auction like
that have registered as a new user the same time of placing the ad?
The ad and wording gives the impression they are not new to ebay. If
they are not new to ebay, why would they be using a new account and
not their old existing one?
What if they did a bit of research on ebay and realised that crap looking
auctions dont sell?




Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
SteveH
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 05:43 PM



Jack Jennings <I (AT) amnot (DOT) here> wrote:

Quote:
What do you think guys? I don't think he will get any bids. Think its
worth more like £3,000. Wonder if paying for a car via pay pal gives
you much extra protection?

If I was in the market for a car of that sort, the advert wouldn't ring any
warning bells or worry me.

But why would somebody capable of making a pretty ebay auction like
that have registered as a new user the same time of placing the ad?
The ad and wording gives the impression they are not new to ebay. If
they are not new to ebay, why would they be using a new account and
not their old existing one?
Maybe he's a bit of a part-time trader, maybe not. He may or may not
have sold on ebay before. Does it really matter if the car checks out
OK?

FWIW, a secondary account could just be a bit of a dodge to avoid the
taxman.....


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
Crazy Dog
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 06:07 PM



SteveH wrote:
<snip>
Quote:
FWIW, a secondary account could just be a bit of a dodge to avoid the
taxman.....
Could also be an attempt to avoid his obligations as a motor trader.
Especially if there's something seriously wrong with this car.

--
Remove underwear when emailing me.


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
SteveH
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 06:14 PM



Steve Firth <%steve%@malloc.co.uk> wrote:

Quote:
SteveH <steve (AT) italiancar (DOT) co.uk> wrote:

Maybe he's a bit of a part-time trader, maybe not.

Anyone who uses "immaculate" is a trader.
In Firth World, I'm a trader, then.
--
Steve H 'You're not a real petrolhead unless you've owned an Alfa Romeo'
http://www.italiancar.co.uk - Honda VFR800 - MZ ETZ300
Alfa 75 TSpark - Passat 1.8T - Golf Cabrio - COSOC KOTL
BoTAFOT #87 - BoTAFOF #18 - MRO # - UKRMSBC #7 - Apostle #2 - YTC #


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
Ali Hopkins
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 06:24 PM




"SteveH" <steve (AT) italiancar (DOT) co.uk> wrote


Quote:
Maybe he's a bit of a part-time trader, maybe not. He may or may not
have sold on ebay before. Does it really matter if the car checks out
OK?

If he's a trader, even part time, and he doesn't say so, he's breaking the
law, regardless of whether he sells on Ebay or not.

Ali




Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old   
SteveH
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 06:27 PM



Ali Hopkins <fn62 (AT) dial (DOT) pipex.com> wrote:

Quote:
"SteveH" <steve (AT) italiancar (DOT) co.uk> wrote in message
news:1gvhtqp.145z7vupn46llN%steve (AT) italiancar (DOT) co.uk...

Maybe he's a bit of a part-time trader, maybe not. He may or may not
have sold on ebay before. Does it really matter if the car checks out
OK?


If he's a trader, even part time, and he doesn't say so, he's breaking the
law, regardless of whether he sells on Ebay or not.
Get back to the real world.

I know several people who dabble a bit with cars, I wouldn't call them
'traders' just enthusiasts who buy, drive until bored and sell on.
--
Steve H 'You're not a real petrolhead unless you've owned an Alfa Romeo'
http://www.italiancar.co.uk - Honda VFR800 - MZ ETZ300
Alfa 75 TSpark - Passat 1.8T - Golf Cabrio - COSOC KOTL
BoTAFOT #87 - BoTAFOF #18 - MRO # - UKRMSBC #7 - Apostle #2 - YTC #


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old   
JackH
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 07:59 PM




"Jack Jennings" <I (AT) amnot (DOT) here> wrote


Quote:
But you can spot a genuine private seller a mile away.Somebody selling
his only car once in a blue moon would never remember to include all
those details. The ad looks the same as the professional car traders
selling ex-lease cars on ebay. Maybe its all genuine but as they say
perception is everything. Somebody with 200 100% feedbacks over a
couple of years gives you a nice bit of reassurance. Buying high value
items off a newly registered 0 feedback user is always a bit of a
concern, especially as something as complex as a car, where its not as
simple as it either works or it doesn't.
So don't fucking buy it then... simple enough for you???

--
JackH




Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old   
in2minds
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 08:09 PM



Quote:
Would an HPI check spot a ringer?
not necessarily, they can tell you if it's recorded as being scrapped,
accident damaged, stolen, written off or there is 3rd party interest
such as outstanding finance.
they can also tell you if the V5 and MOT certificate code numbers are
genuine

LJ




Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old   
Johnny
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Dubious car ad on Ebay? - 04-23-2005 , 08:44 PM



"in2minds" <dead (AT) redx (DOT) co.uk> wrote

Quote:
Would an HPI check spot a ringer?

not necessarily, they can tell you if it's recorded as being scrapped,
accident damaged, stolen, written off or there is 3rd party interest such
as outstanding finance.
they can also tell you if the V5 and MOT certificate code numbers are
genuine

Actually they can't tell you if it's been accident damaged - unless it was
so bad it was an insurance write off.





Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.